American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics Web site: http://www.aahp-abhp.org

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

Editor

Kyle Kleinhans, CHP Work: 865-241-1024 Email: klink17@tds.net Associate Editor Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP Work: 702-295-3489

Email: H.Anagnostopoulos@NV.DOE.GOV

AAHP Standing Committees for 2009

Richard J. Vetter, President-elect

There are eight standing committees of the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP), including the Finance Committee, whose composition is specified in our bylaws. Members of the remaining seven committees are Diplomats of the Academy nominated by the president-elect and approved by the Executive Committee for staggered three-year terms. Committee chairs are nominated and approved for one-year terms.

A brief listing of each committee's members and chairs for calendar year 2009, as approved by the AAHP Executive Committee, is shown below. More information about the composition and function of standing committees of the Academy can be found on our Web site, http://hps1.org/aahp/index.htm, at link http://hps1.org/aahp/committee_duty_overview.htm.

Appeals Committee

Chair Gregory Hall, Nicholas Panzarino, and new member Penny Shamblin.

Continuing Education Committee

New member and Chair James Willison, Louise Buker, James Cherniak, David Hearnsberger, L. Scott Walker, and new member Joseph Greco.

Examination Site Committee

Chair April Chance, John Gough, and new members Jason Flora and Jack Higginbotham.

Finance Committee

Chair and Past Treasurer Ed Bailey, 2009 AAHP Treasurer Ray Johnson, and 2009 ABHP Chair Cheryl Olson.

Nominating Committee

Chair Kathryn Pryor, Keith Anderson, John Hageman, Steve King, Glenn Sturchio, and new members Morgan Cox, Earl Fordham, and 2009 ABHP Vice Chair Patricia Milligan. Kyle Kleinhans agreed to serve a second term.

Professional Development Committee

Chair Jay Maisler, Edward Christman, Michael Davidson, Thomas E. Johnson, and new member Jeffrey S. Vollmer. Cindy Bloom agreed to serve a second term and Kevin S. Buckley agreed to serve a one-year term as American Association of Physicists in Medicine liaison.

Professional Standards and Ethics Committee

Chair Paul Rohwer, Karen Barcal, Ruth McBurney, Cheryl Olson, and new member John (Jack) Fix.

Title Protection and Professional Recognition Committee

Chair Tom Buhl, Kathleen Dinnel-Jones, Judson Kenoyer, Debra McBaugh, and new members Barbara Hamrick and Bernard Olsen.

The Academy is extremely grateful for the service of those committee members who have completed their terms and are rotating off in January 2009. The outgoing committee members are Matthew Arno, Daniel Burnfield, Robert Cherry Jr., Roy Craft, Kenneth Fleming, Regis Greenwood, Sarah Hoover, Scott Kirk, Jeffrey Kotsch, Kent Lambert, Bob Miltenberger, Randy Sanders, L. Max Scott, and Jim Tarpinian.

Please express your gratitude to these CHPs who served on the Academy's standing committees for their contribution to our profession. Diplomats of the Academy who would like to serve on a committee should indicate their willingness on their dues envelope or contact the committee chair or Nancy Johnson at the Secretariat directly.

In addition to these committees, the Academy has

several liaison positions, one of which is liaison to the Health Physics Society (HPS). The person appointed to serve as HPS liaison is usually a director of the Society with a three-year term on the HPS Board. We are grateful to Kathleen Shingleton, who has served in that capacity for the past three years. The new HPS liaison is Elizabeth Brackett, who is a newly elected director of the Society Board of Directors.

Professional Development Committee

Jay Maisler, Chair

The Professional Development Committee (PDC) completed draft "Guidance for Health Physicists Serving as expert or fact witness." This guidance was developed to assist health physicists who may serve as expert or fact witnesses. This document focuses on guidance rather than mandatory practices and procedures. It is not intended to be comprehensive nor is it intended to cover all duties and responsibilities of a health physicist who may serve as an expert or fact witness. The document has been submitted to the AAHP Executive Committee for approval.

The PDC continues to coordinate efforts with the American Academy of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM) to develop a common Standard of Qualification and Practice for Healthcare radiation safety officers (RSO). The AAPM has established a task group that will address training and experience to be an RSO for a qualified medical physicist, qualifica-

tions for other individuals (e.g., physicians) to be an RSO, and development of specific guidance to assist management in submitting an individual's RSO qualifications to a regulatory authority. Kevin Buckley serves as the PDC representative on the task group.

Finally, the PDC is developing a brochure explaining why an individual should consider becoming a CHP. The brochure is in final draft and was reviewed by the committee at the annual meeting in Pittsburgh. The brochure was then submitted to the Executive Committee for consideration.

Jay Maisler is the current chair of the PDC. Current members include Kevin Buckley, Ed Christman, Tom Johnson, Jeff Kotsch, Cindy Bloom, and Mike Davidson. David Bernhardt and Barbara Hamrick provided great assistance in finalizing the draft guidance discussed above. For further information, please contact Jay Maisler (jmaisler@enercon.com).