# **CHP Corner**



AMERICAN ACADEMY OF HEALTH PHYSICS email: AAHP@BurkInc.com

1313 Dolley Madison Blvd. ■ Suite 402 ■ McLean, VA 22101 ■ 703-790-1745 ■ FAX: 703-790-2672

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

Editor Kyle Kleinhans, CHP

Work: 865-241-1024, Email: klink17@tds.net

### **ABHP Exam Application Reminder**

Stop procrastinating! Applications to take either part of the 2015 American Board of Health Physics examination must be filed with the Secretariat and postmarked no later than **15 January 2015**. Application information may be found at hps1.org/aahp/boardweb/forms.html.

#### **Heads Up for CHPs**

Ed Bailey, President, American Academy of Health Physics Nora Nicholson, Chair, American Board of Health Physics

The American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) and its certification process are accredited by the Council of Engineering and Scientific Specialty Boards (CESB) and have been for many years. This accreditation is up for renewal at the end of 2015. To retain this accreditation for our process from 2016 onward, the ABHP will have to increase the minimum number of credits required for certified health physicists (CHPs) to recertify to an average of 20 per year. After much discussion of options at its July meeting, the Executive Committee of the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) voted to retain the association with CESB. This decision will require increasing the number of credits required for recertification from the current 64 to a total of 80 credits per 4-year period after 2015.

Coincident with this increase, efforts are also under way to reevaluate how continuing education credits are awarded. This effort will look for opportunities to make the transition at the end of 2015 as equitable and seamless as possible. Final changes to the structure of continuing education credits should be approved at the February 2015 meeting of the AAHP Executive Committee in Norfolk, Virginia. Notification to CHPs of these changes will quickly follow so that all CHPs have ample opportunity to adjust to the new requirements.

## **Changes to AAHP Procedures**

Kyle Kleinhans, AAHP Parliamentarian

The standard operating procedures (SOPs) of the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) are reviewed periodically. Changes are proposed and approved during the summer meeting of the AAHP Executive Committee. Revisions to SOPs 2.4.1 (Metrics for Assessment of the Performance of the AAHP Investment Manager), 2.4.2 (Investment Policy of the Academy), 2.4.3 (Financial Operations Details), and 2.8.1 (Title Protection and Professional Recognition) were recommended and approved by the Executive Committee. Although not required to be approved by the Executive Committee, revisions were made to SOP 6.2.13 (GTTK Document for Title Protection and Professional Recognition).

The revised procedures will soon be published and available on the AAHP website at <a href="https://membersonly/aahp\_docs/index.htm">hps1.org/aahp/membersonly/aahp\_docs/index.htm</a>. (Note: your AAHP user ID and password will be needed to access this area of the website.)

Our webmaster, Scott Medling, also set up a secure location for AAHP executive sessions to be stored on the AAHP website. Note that these are only accessible to the AAHP president and parliamentarian.

#### **Examination Site Committee Activities**

Todd W. Baker, Chair

The year started with a very careful and deliberate handoff from outgoing Examination Site Committee Chair Janine Katanic. I benefited tremendously from serving under her direction as chair the previous two years. I *thought* I was ready for leading three other members, Christopher Graham, Anthony Williams, and Josip Zic. Now, I fully appreciate the many communications required to organize this completely volunteer effort on a national scale. Each of the committee members met their far-flung geographic assignments to serve examination candidates and, hopefully, future certified health physicists (CHPs)!

As the duties of this committee are tied to the annual meeting and CHP examination schedule, the committee members were very active during the months of March, April, and May in preparing 17 sites for the 14 July 2014 CHP exam to be administered. On behalf of all the committee members, I want to express our appreciation to American Academy of Health Physics Executive Secretary and Program Director Nancy Johnson for her tolerance with respect to the difficulty in finalizing a few of these sites into the month of June. The predicament and general trend among employers is less time flexibility among CHPs to perform service to their profession. Nevertheless, approximately 300 exam candidates were served this past July by capable volunteer proctors to ensure the integrity of the CHP examination process. I know some sacrificed vacation to fulfill their commitment to be a local proctor.

This year, the committee established 16 examination sites in addition to the main examination site in Baltimore, Maryland. As a rank-and-file CHP, you should extend your thanks and deep appreciation to the exam site CHP proctors as well as other CHPs who were instrumental in setting up and coordinating this year's exam sites.

- Aiken, South Carolina: Mark Hogue, Dennis Hadlock, John Moxley, Wayne Farrell, James Johnson, and David Deal
- Albuquerque, New Mexico: Catherine Anderko, Mike Schierman, Walen Mickey, and Cassiano de Oliveira
- Atlanta, Georgia: John Dixon and Tamela Wheeler
- Baltimore, Maryland: Anthony Williams, Benjamin Morgan, and Joe Sorcic (and others!)
- Boston, Massachusetts: Mark Walsh and Michael Melisi
- Columbus, Ohio: Gretchen Farnung and Mutty Sharfi
- Fort Collins, Colorado: Ted Borst and Tom Johnson
- East Hartford, Connecticut: Daniel Evans and Kenneth Price
- Houston, Texas: Janet Gutierrez, John W. (Jay) Poston, Jr., and Sandra Jimenez
- Los Angeles (Irvine), California: Bryan Ruiz and E. Scott Medling
- New York, New York: Matthew Williamson and Lawrence Dauer
- · Oak Ridge, Tennessee: Pat McCloskey, Phil Gianutsos, and Johnafred Thomas
- · Pocatello, Idaho: Paul Ritter, Morris Hall, and Richard Brey
- Richland, Washington: Paul Stansbury, Sean Murphy, Andrey Mozhayev, and Don Stewart
- San Ramon, California: Brian Champine, David Barron, and Linda Sewell
- St. Louis, Missouri: Chris Graham, Steve Passig, and Bill Uhland
- Whitby (Ontario), Canada: Josip Zic and Loc Nguyen

Lastly, I would like to note that my term as committee chair will conclude at the end of this year but each of my fellow committee members—Christopher Graham, Anthony Williams, and Josip Zic—will continue to serve in 2015. We all agreed the benefit of serving on the Examination Site Committee was the excuse and necessary impetus it provided each of us to establish relationships with CHPs we ordinarily would have no reason to contact. It seems that CHPs are increasingly rare, and we need to work together to reverse that trend.

I hope that when the call goes out for next year's exam proctors, you will be able to help us support this effort.