CHP CORNER



AMERICAN ACADEMY OF HEALTH PHYSICS

Address contributions to:

Editor - Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP Email: harold.anagnostopoulos@nrc.gov

Associate Editor - Michael J. Zittle, MHP, CHP Email: mzittle@uw.edu

THE ACADEMY ON SOCIAL MEDIA

Harry Anagnostopoulos, Editor

Pictures of kittens? What you had for dinner last night? Seriously?

We can do better things with social media! Check us out at:

Facebook (American Academy of Health Physics) LinkedIn (American Academy of Health Physics) and Twitter (HPTweets@AAHPTweets).

CALL FOR AAHP NOMINATIONS

John Hageman, Chair of the Nominating Committee

The American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) Nominating Committee is seeking candidates for multiple leadership positions. These include:

- 1. Four positions on the AAHP Executive Committee (two Directors, the Secretary, and the President-elect)
- 2. One new member of the Board (ABHP)
- 3. One member of Board of Directors of the American Board of Medical Physics (appointed for a three-year term)

Successful candidates will take office at the 2020 Health Physics Society Midyear Meeting.

Nominees must be:

- 1. Current plenary members of the Academy (either active or emeritus), and
- 2. Not serving an appointment to either the Part I or Part II Exam Panels, or as a member of the ABHP, at the time that they take office

In addition, the appointed member of Board of Directors of the ABMP must be certified by both the ABMP and the ABHP.

The Executive Committee meets twice per year at the HPS Annual and Midyear meetings.

Nancy Kirner, Past AAHP President, writes:

"I thoroughly enjoyed serving on the Executive Committee of the AAHP. It gave me outstanding professional relationships and trusted friends while allowing me to give back to the profession that I dearly prize. I would highly recommend serving on the EC for everyone interested in the profession of health physics."

Please contact any member of the Nominating Committee to volunteer or to nominate someone for service. Committee members are listed in the table below with the year that their term expires. You may also contact the Chair directly at jphchp@gmail.com or by phone at 210-260-7210.

Willie Harris ('20)
Steve Dewey ('19)
John Hageman ('18)
Tony Mason ("19)
Cindy Flannery (ABHP Vice Chair) ('20)
Ed Bailey ('20)
Elizabeth Algutifan ('20)
Myra Long ('20)
Nora Nicholson ('18)
Steven Dewey ('19)
Tim Taulbee ('20)

willie.harris@exeloncorp.com sdewey001@gmail.com jphchp@gmail.com trmasonhp@gmail.com cindy.flannery@comcast.net edbaileychp@msn.com algutifan@sbcglobal.net myra_long@att.net nora.nicholson@dominionenergy.com sdewey001@gmail.com taulbet@gmail.com

WILLIAM A. MCADAMS OUTSTANDING SERVICE AWARD

Cindy Flannery, ABHP Vice-Chair

It is a pleasure and honor to announce **Govind R. Rao** as the recipient of the 2018 **McAdams Award!**

The award was established in 1989 and is presented annually by the American Board of Health Physics and the American Academy of Health Physics to honor a certified health physicist who has made significant contributions toward the advancement of professionalism in health physics and to the certification process.

Govind received his undergraduate degree in Physics and Math from University of Poona in India in 1966 and two Masters degrees in Physics from the Indian Institute of Technology in 1968 and the University of Pittsburgh in 1969. He also received his Ph.D. in Nuclear Physics from the University of Pittsburgh in 1974.

Govind has over 40 years of experience in Health Physics and has authored / co-authored 46 publications / presentations. His roles and experience have been diverse, ranging from a Radiation Safety Officer position at the US Testing Company in Richland Washington to managing the dosimetry programs at the Testing Company and at Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL). Since 1988, he has held various leadership positions responsible for the dosimetry programs at ORNL. In 2002, he took on the leadership role responsible for the entire Dosimetry Services Group (internal and external dosimetry program) at ORNL.

Govind is a model leader of the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP). Since becoming certified in 1990, Govind has dedicated much of his time to further professionalism in the field by holding several positions on the Board. Govind served on the ABHP Part 2 Panel of Examiners from 1999 through 2008, and chaired the Panel in 2006. After that, Govind served for five years on the American Board of Health Physics, serving as its Chair in 2013. While deserving of a rest after 14 years of continuous service, Govind then moved to the Part 1 Panel in 2014 where he has served to this day.

Govind exemplifies sustained, dedicated, and outstanding service to the ABHP that symbolizes the McAdams Award. Govind, congratulations on your award and thank you again for supporting the certification process, the Health Physics Society and the American Board of Health Physics.

THE ROLE OF THE PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

Dennis Clum, Chair

The mission of the Professional Development Committee is to expand and enhance the professionalism and benefits of certification, and to encourage and assist on the recognition and acceptance of certification by others. Other duties include 1) organize and coordinate the ABHP booth at the Annual and Midyear meetings, 2) review and recommend action on licensure and registration issues and, 3) propose and prepare Standards of Qualification and Practice (SQ / Ps).

The Professional Development Committee met at the Annual Meeting in Cleveland.

With the majority of committee member's terms set to expire this calendar year, short term efforts will focus on the replenishment of the committee. Members in their final year on the committee include Jim Herrold, Jeff Kotsch, Allison Wilding, and Dennis Clum.

Other efforts are underway to enhance the involvement of the committee, and the development of guidance for committee chair turnover.